DEVELOPING PEOPLE AND TECHNOLOGY

Welcome to the Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies!

More Information

SMART MINING CONFERENCE (SMC)

Visit our International Conference (previously Forum Mining 4.0) 19./20. November 2019 at Aachen Tivoli

More Information

SMART MINING - SMART PEOPLE

Learn More about our innovative Teaching & Learning Concepts and current Courses!

More Information

MORE THAN MINING

Learn More about our Research Focus and Current Projects!

More Information

SHAPING THE MINING INDUSTRY OF TOMORROW

Learn more about our Service Portfolio!

More Information

  • Home

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED MINING TECHNOLOGIES

In research and teaching, the Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies (AMT) stands for a safe, efficient and responsible supply of raw materials through the automation and digitisation of mining machinery and processes.

Research and Teaching Focus

In the spirit of Mining 4.0, the focus of research is on the utilization of information for process, environment and machine monitoring with the aid of sensor technology and modern methods of machine and process data analysis.

AMT develops robust, connected and autonomous systems and processes for surface and underground mining operations. The focus is on smart sensor- and data-based applications for positioning and navigation of vehicles, person and object recognition, material characterization as well as process automation and optimization to enable modern high-performance mining.

With regard to teaching, the AMT attaches great importance to a holistic and modern engineering education with a high practical relevance and the integration of innovative teaching and learning concepts. The contents of the lectures and exercises range from foundational mechanics to mechanical and mining experimental exercises as well as teaching in the areas of measurement, control and regulation systems.

What Distinguishes the AMT?

The AMT specializes in research and technology development in the field of automation and digitization of machines and processes in underground and surface mining.

The AMT is also characterized by the combination of fundamental research and applied industry-related research. The combination of fundamental and application-oriented, industry-oriented research and teaching makes the AMT a pioneer in raw material-related education in Europe and one of the leading institutes in the field of automation and digitization in mining.

The interdisciplinary dynamic research team at AMT under the direction of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Elisabeth Clausen comprises electrical, environmental and mining engineers as well as mechanical engineers and software developers. The employees are involved in the implementation of practical projects as well as actively involved in the training of young scientists. The institute is currently involved in 26 different RWTH University courses.

News

This year's AMT Research Report provides comprehensive insights into our research areas and all current research projects.

Our YouTube Channel is now active!

Watch the AMT Trailer, a Video summarizing the Smart Mining Conference and other Projectvideos on our YouTube channel!

Read more about AMT and other Research Institutes in Germany and their activities in the area of Industry 4.0 in a recent publication by VDMA Germany.

Free Download!

The AMT hires committed young scientists and is looking forward to unsolicited applications!

In addition, there please check for announcements for current job offers!

MENSCHEN UND TECHNIK FÖRDERN

Willkommen am Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies!

Mehr Informationen

SMART MINING CONFERENCE (SMC)

Besuchen Sie unsere Fachkonferenz (vormals Forum Bergbau 4.0) am 19./20. November 2019 im Aachener Tivoli

Mehr Informationen

SMART MINING - SMART PEOPLE

Erfahren Sie mehr über innovative Lehr- und Lernkonzepte und aktuelle Lehrveranstaltungen des AMT!

Mehr Informationen

 

MORE THAN MINING

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte und aktuellen Projekte!

Mehr Informationen

 

DEN BERGBAU VON MORGEN GESTALTEN

Erfahren Sie mehr über unser umfangreiches Dienstleistungsangebot!

Mehr Informationen

 

  • Startseite

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED MINING TECHNOLOGIES

Das Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies (AMT) steht in Forschung und Lehre für eine sichere, effiziente und verantwortungsvolle Rohstoffversorgung durch die Automatisierung und Digitalisierung von Bergbaumaschinen und -prozessen.

Schwerpunkte in Forschung & Lehre

Im Fokus der Forschung stehen, ganz im Sinne von Bergbau 4.0, die Nutzbarmachung von Informationen zur Prozess-, Umfeld- und Maschinenüberwachung mit Hilfe von Sensortechnik und moderner Verfahren der Maschinen- und Prozessdatenanalyse.

Das AMT entwickelt robuste, vernetzte und autonome Systeme sowie smarte sensor- und datenbasierte Anwendungen zur Positionierung und Navigation von Fahrzeugen, Personen- und Objekterkennung, Material­charakterisierung sowie Prozessautomatisierung und -optimierung für den modernen Hochleistungsbergbau.

Im Blick auf die Lehre legt das AMT großen Wert auf eine ganzheitliche und moderne Ingenieursausbildung mit hohem Praxisbezug und der Integration innovativer Lehr- und Lernkonzepte. Die Inhalte der Vorlesungen und Übungen reichen von den mechanischen Grundlagen bis hin zu maschinen- und gewinnungstechnischen Experimentalübungen sowie der Vermittlung in den Bereichen der Mess., Steuer- und Regelungssystemen.

Was zeichnet das AMT aus?

Das AMT ist auf Forschung und Technologieentwicklung im Bereich der Automatisierung und Digitalisierung von Maschinen und Prozessen im untertätigen und übertägigen Bergbau spezialisiert.

Das AMT zeichnet sich zudem durch die Kombination von Grundlagenforschung und angewandter industrienaher Forschung aus. Die Kombination aus Grundlagen- und anwendungsorientierter, industrienaher Forschung und Lehre machen das AMT zu einem Vorreiter in der rohstoffbezogenen Ausbildung in Europa und zu einem der führenden Institute im Bereich der Automatisierung und Digitalisierung im Bergbau.

Das interdisziplinäre dynamische Forscherteam am AMT unter der Leitung von Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Elisabeth Clausen umfasst Elektro-, Umwelt-, und Bergbauingenieure sowie Maschinenbauer und Softwareentwickler. Die Mitarbeiter sind sowohl in die Umsetzung praxisnaher Projekte eingebunden als auch aktiv in die Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern involviert. Derzeit ist das Institut an 26 unterschiedlichen Lehrveranstaltungen der RWTH beteiligt.

Aktuelles

Besuchen Sie uns zur Smart Mining Conference!

Inklusive CANDA-DAY mit freiem Eintritt!

Wann? 19./20. November 2019
Wo? Konferenzzentrum Aachener Tivoli

www.smartmining.info

8 spannende Geschäftstermine - 8 gute Gründe um im November nach Deutschland zu reisen.

Besuchen Sie uns zu den German Mining Tech Weeks!

Das Projekt wird einen den gesamten Lebenszyklus (Gewinnung, Aufbereitung, Entsorgung und Recycling) umfassenden Vergleich zwischen Elektro- und Dieselfahrzeugen durchführen mit Fokus auf Stoffströme, Emissionen und Recyclingquoten.

Lesen Sie ein ausführliches Porträt über das AMT und Prof. Elisabeth Clausen in einem aktuellen Bericht in den "Aachener Nachrichten"!